Club Forum

On the way home from crosshills

Create a topic for your vehicle here and let everyone know what you are doing/have done to/with it !
Zedman
Full Name: Richard Bentley

On the way home from crosshills

Postby Zedman » Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:43 pm

On the way home from crosshills as I hit about 40 on the first stretch of road leaving the gate I got nearly uncontrolable vibration and shaking through the stearing wheel, only thing I could do was slow down gently and it disappeared at about 20 mph.

Tried the following

Stopped at nearest garage and inflated all tyres to 32 psi
Check all steering linkages (and tightened a few lock nuts on the heavy duty steering rods.

I had during the event fitted a spare I have never used before so immediatly thought its not ballenced but the problem does not seem to be speed related, can happen at 30 but on a smooth road 50mph was fine, it was generaly set off by a rough road surface.

I can confirm the pannard rod bush is Knackered and has a lot of play, and also the vehicle pulls to the left under braking.

And suggestions to help me get this sorted would be appreciated
Jeep wrangler / Defender owner
If its not rattling its more than likely fallen off !

repton
Full Name: Paul Everett

Postby repton » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:29 pm

When that has happened to me it has always just been a big lump of mud on one of the wheels acting as an unintended balance weight. I would give the wheels a good clean on both sides of the rim before you try anything more expensive.

Paul

davew
Chairman
Full Name: Dave White

Postby davew » Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:53 pm

Panhard rod bush will cause that, as will just about any wear/play in the steering. It's a "normal" side effect of the Land Rover (and most other coil sprung beam axle vehicles) front suspension arrangement.